Stepping into the web design world

For the longest time, I've wanted to do some web design and writing. I've been dragging my feet because I wanted to have my own blogging app developed before I started publishing on the web. I want to write about instructional design, programming, pedagogy, my workflow.

Getting started is super hard, but I need to start so I can start putting something out in the world. What will I put up? Well...

Why Neocities?

I like the DIY nature of creating a website from scratch. The tools are out there, but I'd like to experiment with my own site and Neocities seems perfect. I'd like to create web apps, but other tools can be used for that instead.

Tack on being open-source, ad-free, and independent and Neocities is very appealing.

What's next?

I don't know yet. I want to work on the visual design, but I don't want to hold off on doing other things while I worry about what the site will look like.